Columbia Triathlon Race Report

The weather conditions were favorable for PRs with sunny skies in the morning giving way to clouds, temps in the low 60’s and light rain for a brief period.  So would I best my PR of 2:41:16 set in 2006?  I considered setting my watch to count down from 2:41 during the race but in the end I went with with traditional timing approach.  This would be my 6th Columbia race and I knew what I was capable of doing and I knew what targets I needed to hit after each leg of the race.  To get a PR, I figured I needed a swim time of between 26 and 27 minutes with a T1 that got me on the bike by 30 minutes; a bike time coupled with a T2 that was under 1:20; that would leave me 51 minutes for the 10K.  My goal is always to run sub-50 minutes but I’ve only done it once.  On to the race.

The Swim (1500M)
I don’t know the water temperature but it was colder than I was expecting.  My feet were freezing the entire time.  I tried something at the start I’ve never done before.  I went out as fast as I could.  I was curious and I wanted a fast swim time for me.  Before I knew it, my breathing was out of control and my heart was pounding out of my wetsuit.  Oh $hit!  I was doomed.  I tried to slow down but my chest was exploding.  I tried switching to a breast stroke.  Didn’t work.  Damn it!  I’ve blown my race not two minutes in to it.  Eventually, I did calm down and was able to resume swimming.  And soon after I found a nice zone, BAM!, a right roundhouse to the head knocked off my goggles.  I grabbed them before they went for their own swim, put ’em on and resumed my charge.  A bit later, a left jab connected with my head.  This was the most contact I’ve encountered at Columbia.  But on I went trying to make up for time lost at the beginning.

Time – 26:18, a swim PR!

T1–  an uneventful, and rather slow, 3:20 but it got me on the bike in under 30 minutes.

The Bike (41K)
I went at it from the start, passing some folks along Rte 108 before the turn onto Homewood Rd.  I divide the bike course in to 3 segments, the out, the back loop, and the return.  The course started to get crowded during the loop section and I was getting frustrated by the number of riders that were attempting to pass in packs.  It made me rider harder.  I reached the spot that I recall to be the halfway point in about 40 minutes.  I knew the second half would be faster and I was hoping to get in under 1:19 and close to my PR of 1:17:19. 

I was excited to have reached the Greenbridge Road hill (just after mile 13 as shown on this course map), without being passed by Jellyfish Wheeler, an MMTC member who I finish ahead of in the swim but who seems to pass me at an earlier point each year.  Could I hold him off for the entire bike?  Was it possible he swam faster than me?  Nah.  I reached the turn back to Rte 108 and realized I was having a good ride, for me.  Back to the park and as I turned left, I heard someone shouting at Jellyfish who must have been on my tail. 

Time – 1:17:39 (19.6 mph); only 20 seconds shy of a PR

T2 – 0:57 seconds, woo hoo!

The Run (10K)
As soon as I was on the course, I tried to figure out how much time I had to PR.  My watch read 1:48:xx so I knew I had around 52 minutes.  And then I tried to calculate a per mile pace.  Hey, it took my mind off the first big climb and the fact that Jellyfish passed me soon after.  I came up with something between 8:15 and 8:30.  The first mile was done in 8:15.  Perfect.  The second mile just about the same.  And then came a couple of big climbs on the back side of Centennial Park and leaving the park.  I reached mile 3 in about 25 minutes.  Okay, still good.  But then came the longer climb between miles 3 and 4.  Suddenly, I could really notice the extra weight on my frame as I climbed.  As I reached the marker for mile 4, I was no longer sure I could PR.  Around the next couple of turns and then the short, steep climb out of the neighborhood.  By now, I “knew” I wouldn’t PR.  I was toast. 

But then comes the best part of the run course.  The 1/2 mile that is all downhill as you run back to the park.  Mile 5 and my math skills are not as crisp as they were at the beginning of the run.  I think I figured I had about 10 minutes left for the final 1.2 miles.  Just get up the final hill!  I do.  Then I stop ever so briefly for a gulp of water.  And now I’m eager to finish.   I tell myself that if I can’t PR under that day’s conditions then I don’t know what it would take.  Looking at my watch during the final half mile, I suddenly think I have a shot at 2:39:xx, a time that has been my ultimate goal for about 3 years.  I tell myself that if I push hard enough I might be able to reach it.  And if I do…well, that just may be the best I could ever do on this course and I’ll never have to worry about racing it hard again.

Up the final crest and past the 6 mile marker.  A PR is in the bag.  What about 2:39???  Pushing it to the finish line, I cross and raise my arms.

Time – 51:07 (8:14 pace); the time is just about in the middle of my 6 races.

Overall – 2:39:17  Woo Hoo! (64 of 219 M 40-44; 411 of 1730 finishers)

So now a question remains.  Will I race it next year or just complete it?  Well, if I lost a few of these extra pounds, and I didn’t freak at the swim start and if I can get out of T1 faster…

About Russ

Running and tri'ing and looking for a challenge.
This entry was posted in biking, Triathlon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment