It’s Not Complicated

At least it doesn’t have to be.  But if you show up to a triathlon these days you’re likely to have bike envy, wheel envy, body envy or all of the above.  There are many folks that have a lot of money to put in to this sport.  Doesn’t have to be that way.  It’s just swimming, biking and running.  Granted, running will feel better as the last leg of a race if you train properly but money won’t buy that feeling.

Last Saturday was Race #3 – The Bugeye Classic at the ChesapeakeMan Endurance Festival in Cambridge, MD.  And since I was sick all week I did absolutley no training.  I just wanted to get to the start line feeling well enough.  I figured I could plod through the 1.2 mile swim, 23 mile bike and 6.2 mile run (or walk if needed).

Camping the night before furthered the ‘it’s not complicated” theme but it was a camper not a tent and was rather comfortable.  And we were at the high school that would serve as the second transition area and finish line.  We’d have to take a bus to the start area – which was also the first transition area.  Having two separate transition locations does complicate a race slightly but it worked out just fine.

Swim 1.2 miles (40:26) – After being sick all week I had no idea what to expect.  But being in the brackish Choptank River I figured I was about to embark on a 40 minute sinus rinse.  My plan was to take it slow and methodical.  And it started that way.  Then I encountered a sea nettle sting to the face.  They feel weird, almost like swimming through a spider web but it tingles.  Within the first half of the swim it would happen four more times to my face.  I considered swimming breast stroke with face out of the water.  Nah.  Suck it up. The return portion seemed very choppy and slower.  But I was thrilled to be out of the water feeling ready to get on the bike.

T1 (3:24) More slow and methodical.  Off with the wetsuit in the changing tent but then a run to the bike to put on socks, shoes, helmet and sunglasses.  Let’s ride.

Bike 23 miles (1:11:47) – I knew I could manage a decent pace even if not feeling 100% but I didn’t want to push it and jeopardize the run or, more importantly, the next three races.  I enjoyed the tailwind on the out portion and passed some folks but let others pass me without care.  I was here to finish only.  After the turn around point a headwind greeted the riders.  Oh well, it is the eastern shore.  It’s to be expected.  But I was counting the miles to the turn and a change in direction.  At mile 22, those of us racing the shortest distance of the 3 triathlons held at ChesapeakeMan headed to the high school to begin the run.  Pulling in the parking lot, you dismount and hand your bike over to a volunteer which is a nice change.

T2 (2:35)  In to the changing tent to switch out the shoes and lose the helmet.  It should have been quicker but I had to use the porta potty.  I knew running when having to pee was not going to be good.  Spent about a minute here that I’d like to have back.

Run 10K (54:50, 8:51 min per mile pace) – Out of the porta potty on to the track and around I went.  Legs feeling pretty damn good.  Across the field and out to Egypt Road for a lonely out and back.  There were only 110 people that finished the Bugeye Classic race.  I saw a group ahead of me and set out on my pursuit.  I really didn’t expect the run to go well at all.  I was all set for walking if needed.  And even though with each foot strike I could feel the pressure in my sinuses, race day adrenaline was stronger.  The miles for this 10K course were not marked but I was able to judge approximate distances based on the signs for the Ultra distance race.  I passed a couple people but hadn’t seen too many until I got closer to the turn around.  As each male passed in the other direction, I began to wonder his age.  They all looked old – so they were likely in my 45-49 age group.   But somewhere around this point my focus shifted from “just finish” to “let’s see how high in the age group we can place.”  And now it was getting warmer.  But I still felt great.  Targeting people ahead of me after the turn around and I’d pass a couple.  Though I also knew that there were guys behind me that were running strong toward the turn around.  Hmmm, could they catch me?  How much of a lead did I have on them?   How old is that guy that just started walking ahead of me?  On I ran playing these games.  Glancing back to see if anyone was closing.  One guy – but how old?   By the time I reached the track I figured I had at least 20 seconds on him and didn’t think he could catch me in the final .2 miles.  On to the finish and I was thrilled with my day.

Final 2:52:59 25th of 110 Overall and 2nd of 11 in Age Group.  My best age group finish since 2006.  A look at the results showed my 1:12 behind the first place M45-49 finisher.  How much time was lost in the porta potty? I don’t know but I do know that 1st place guy was faster in swim, T1, bike and ironically 1:12 faster in T2.  I closed on him on the run but not enough.

The book is closed on #3.  Now we head south to Lake Anna State Park, VA for the Giant Acorn.  Although there are  3 left, it doesn’t feel like the halfway point.

About Russ

Running and tri'ing and looking for a challenge.
This entry was posted in Races, Triathlon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment